The Weight of Things

Some of you ladies and gents have noticed that as much as I talk about all the exercise and somewhat healthy eating I’m doing, I don’t often talk about my actual weight.  The real number behind it all.  Nor do I ever talk about all the weight that I am losing.  2lbs here, 3 lbs there, yeah, I’m pretty sure I’ve never had any type of report like that.  Which some of you may think it a bit weird for, well, what’s pretty much a diet and exercise blog (ok, there’s a little dating in there too, but not so much lately, probably why we’re focusing on diet and exercise, but I digress…).  I subscribe to probably at least 20 other blogs out in the world about diet and weight loss and every week, especially on Mondays, I feel like everyone is always happy to report their weight loss and show up to the party with a new number.  Which leaves me a little bit left out, and a lot jealous.

There are a couple of reasons that I don’t put up those weighty numbers.  The first is that
the scale and I have an ongoing argument.  I think it should keep going down, it thinks it should stay the same.  We’ve had this fight for many years.  So there are times where I’ll go rather long without stepping on the scale because I simply can’t handle the disappointment.  Truth is, I know what’s I’ve done in a week, the good and the bad.  Sometimes the scale just has a problem understanding that.  So it digs it’s heals in and won’t budge.  Stupid scale.

 

The second reason I’m not putting up those numbers is because this body tends lose weight at the speed of at turtle.  Someday I’ll go into a longer post about all my metabolic adventures, but the short of it is that there are some, shall we say, metabolic challenges that I face that cause me to lose weight at the speed of a 40-year-old tortoise.  Which
means, that I get maybe a max of 10lbs a year off this body.  Typically once it’s off, it stays off, but still that’s a long time to drop 10lbs.  Every pound of which I am eternally grateful.

The third reason is that because I rarely get the results I want on the scale, I want to focus what my good friend SG calls “Non Scale Victories” or “NSV’s”.  We tend to focus so much on what the scale says, that we negate the other victories that we have about our weight loss and exercise journeys.  It should never be an either or.  Just because there was no victory on the scale, doesn’t mean that tracking my food for a week, and running 7 miles isn’t a victory.  That should have equal value in my mind and my heart.  So it’s not just about the numbers for me.  It’s about all the stuff I do to make myself healthy.

So that’s a very long answer to a very short question about the numbers game.  Every once in a while, I’ll update you on a loss when there is a significant one.  And I promise I’ll clue you in when I hit a milestone, but for now, let’s just leave it quiet.  I won’t bombard you with numbers every week, and instead I’ll share with you all my NSV’s.  Sound like a plan? No matter what, even if it takes 9 more years (it’s already taken 9), when I do hit that magic weight that I think is healthy for me, I’ll share it with you…and a picture too.

4 thoughts on “The Weight of Things

  1. I feel you. I can do drastic, often stupid things to lose weight rapidly but the real loses! The ones that stay off? Those take forever. Seems so unfair when it’s so easy to put on! Point: I don’t need to know your number or when it changes. I like celebrating your NSV’s. 🙂

Comments are closed.